Databases

(ITM Library)

All articles published in the journal “Annales de la Société Belge de Médecine Tropicale” (1920-1995). This database and open access collection is also fully integrated in the EDS Discovery Service: use the limiter ‘Annales’ on the left side of the EDS results screen!

• Volume: over 4,400 records.
• Languages: 75% French; 22% English; 3% other languages.
• Scope: exhaustive database.
• Order: the records are presented in reverse chronological order.
• Keywords: all keywords are in English. No controlled thesaurus is used, so various synonyms may occur. Take care: at present not all records concerning Congo-Kinshasa, Rwanda or Burundi explicitely feature the keyword “Africa, Central”.
• Availability: all publications included are available in the ITM library.
• Electronic availability: all articles are now also freely available in electronic format (PDF), linked from within the Notes field of the database.
• Update frequency: the database is complete.
• Copyright: The Library. Institute of Tropical Medicine 1998-2018.

(John Wiley)

10.000 systematic reviews and over 1.000.000 registered clinical trials. Independent high quality evidence for health care decision making.
Cochrane is a global independent network of health practitioners, researchers, patient advocates and others, responding to the challenge of making the vast amounts of evidence generated through research useful for informing decisions about health. We are a not-for-profit organisation with collaborators from over 120 countries working together to produce credible, accessible health information that is free from commercial sponsorship and other conflicts of interest.

(Centre for Reviews and Dissimination / National Institute for Health Research)

DARE is focused primarily on systematic reviews that evaluate the effects of health care interventions and the delivery and organisation of health services.

The database also includes reviews of the wider determinants of health such as housing, transport, and social care where these impact directly on health, or have the potential to impact on health.

Every week we undertake extensive searches and assess thousands of citations to identify potential systematic reviews._

(ITM Library)

Comprehensive database of publications concerning Ebola and Marburg virus and Ebola and Marburg hemorrhagic fever (1967-present). This database is also fully integrated in the EDS Discovery Service: use the limiter ‘Ebola’ on the left side of the EDS results screen!

• Volume: ca. 8,000 records.
• Document types: 79% articles; 2% books & reports; 9% book chapters; 9% abstracts; 1% others.
• Language distribution: 75% English; 11% French; 6% Russian; 8% other languages.
• Scope: exhaustive database.
• Order: the records are presented in reverse chronological order.
• Keywords: all keywords are in English. No controlled thesaurus is used, so various synonyms may occur.
• Availability: not all publications included are available in the ITM library.
• Update frequency: quarterly. Last updated in September 2022.
• Copyright: The Library. Institute of Tropical Medicine 1998-2022.

Our central search engine combines several of the library’s major information sources into one portal indexing millions of items readily available to ITM patrons. EDS integrates both international databases such as Medline Complete, Global Health or ScienceDirect and specific ITM collections such as the complete ITM books catalog (both printed and online), ITM dissertations and ITM publications.

• Use the limit options on the left panel to focus your search: All ITM Collections / ITM Library Collections / ITM Publications / etc.
• Default results display order is by relevance. You can change this to publication date (‘newest/oldest first’).
• The publication type icons may sometimes be confusing. E.g. ‘Academic journal’ vs. ‘Magazine’.
• Next to most full-text e-journals and e-books available to ITM, EDS also contains a selection of international bibliographic databases from which part of the full-text items may not be available online or in the library. The FullTextFinder feature aims to link to appropriate full-text content, but cannot always guarantee its immediate availability.

This version of EDS searches in far more databases and online collections provided by Ebsco.

As such the bibliographical search results are maximized, but the inevitable downside is that for a large part of them full-text may not available for ITM patrons. We suggest you use this EDS version only when your search needs to be as broad as possible, irrespective of immediate full-text availability.

(ITM Library)

Selection of publications on health care in developing countries. This database is especially relevant for participants of the “Health Systems Management and Policy” (HSMP, formerly ICHD) Master of Science in Public Health course organized at ITM. This database is also integrated in the EDS Discovery Service: use the limiter ‘Health Services’ on the left side of the EDS results screen!

• Volume: over 12,000 records.
• Document types: 67% articles; 24% books & reports; 9% book chapters.
• Language distribution: 82% English; 17% French; 1% other languages.
• Scope: highly selective database. While many more publications may be relevant for these topics, only a choice of items received by the ITM library is selected.
• Order: the records are presented in reverse chronological order.
• Keywords: all keywords are in English. No controlled thesaurus is used, so various synonyms may occur.
• Availability: all publications included are available in the ITM library.
• Update frequency: quarterly. Last updated in September 2022.
• Copyright: The Library. Institute of Tropical Medicine 1998-2022.

(ITM Library)

Subject: all publications by ITM staff 1900-present. This database is also fully integrated in the EDS Discovery Service: use the limiter ‘ITM Publications’ on the left side of the EDS results screen!

• Volume: over 18,500 records.
• Document types: 65% articles; 2% books & reports; 10% book chapters; 21% abstracts; 1% dissertations; 1% other.
• Language distribution: 58% English; 34% French; 6% Dutch; 2% other languages.
• Scope: exhaustive coverage; when communicated to the ITG library staff, published items missing in the database will be added in later updates.
• Order: the records are presented in reverse chronological order.
• Keywords: all keywords are in English. No controlled thesaurus is used, so various synonyms may occur.
• Availability: not all publications included are available in the ITG library, yet most (> 85%) are.
• Electronic availability: most post-2000 publications included are now also available in electronic format.
• Update frequency: qiartemy. Last updated in September 2022.
• Copyright: The Library. Institute of Tropical Medicine 1998-2022.

(ITM Library)

Subject: all dissertations of ITM master students 1912-present.

The full collection is also integrated in the EDS Discovery Service: use the limiter ‘ITM Master Theses’ on the left side of the EDS results screen!

• Volume: over 3,300 records.
• Language distribution: 69% French; 25% English; 6% Dutch.
• Scope: exhaustive coverage.
• Order: the records are presented in reverse chronological order.
• Keywords: all keywords are in English. No controlled thesaurus is used, so various synonyms may occur.
• Availability: all dissertations (except for a few missing items) are available online within the ITM site. Printed copies can be obtained at the library counter.
• PDF surveys of dissertation collections are available at ICHD/CIPS, MDC/MCM and MSTAH/MSSAT.
• Update frequency: quarterly. Last updated in September 2022.
• Copyright: The Library. Institute of Tropical Medicine 1998-2022.

(ITM Library)

Catalog of all books and a choice of documents (“grey literature”) kept in the ITM library. Besides genuine books and unpublished documents, this database also includes a selection of serial items and special journal issues. The full catalog is also integrated in the EDS Discovery Service: use the limiter ‘ITM Books Catalog’ on the left side of the EDS results screen!

• Volume: ca. 35,000 titles.
• Document types: 70% books; 3% dissertations; 14% reports, documents, special serials issues, etc.; 5% electronic documents.
• Language distribution: 66% English; 27% French; 7% other languages.
• Scope: exhaustive catalog.
• Order: the records are presented in reverse chronological order.
• Keywords: all keywords are in English. No controlled thesaurus is used, so various synonyms may occur.
• Availability: most of the items are immediately available in the books reading room. Some are held in a closed store or in the research departments. These should be asked for at the counter.
• Update frequency: quarterly. Last updated in September 2022.
• Copyright: The Library. Institute of Tropical Medicine 1998-2022.

To find the books on the shelves you only need 3 pieces of information (these are the same 3 elements which feature on the book’s label):

• CD the subject code. This is the major classification key (see Barnard classification).
• NR the unique identification number.
• PY the year of publication.

Take care: not all titles are present in the books reading room

• Book copies with the letter “M” or “MG” after the identification number, or the initial message “This book is not available in the ITG Library reading room” are not kept in the “Broden” reading room, but in a closed store; they can be requested at the counter.
• Book copies with the formula “Reference” as subject code are not kept on the book shelves, but in the reference section at the left side of the “Broden” room, next to the PCs. In the database this is indicated by the initial message “This book is in the reference section”.
• Apart from published books, the library also holds several thousands of unpublished documents and reports (produced by, amongst others, the many subdivisions of the World Health Organization (WHO)). This type of “grey literature” is not kept in the reading rooms, but in a closed store. Starting from 1990, these documents are listed in the ITG Book & Document Holdings database. Their special status is indicated by the formula “This document can be obtained at the ITG Library counter” at the top of the records. Instead of a numeric identification number, they are marked with the formula “Archives”. In order to successfully identify and retrieve the actual documents, their unique serial number (listed in the “Series” field) is the main key.
• Besides ‘genuine’ books and unpublished documents, the database also includes (a selection of) (special) journal issues, which are classified in the library as part of the serials holdings. Instead of a numeric identification number, they are marked “This document is in the periodicals section”. Instead of a numeric identification number, they are marked with the formula “Periodicals”.

Other books are, for several reasons, not available in the library. When no copy of such a title is available in the library, this is indicated by the initial message “This book is not available in the ITG Library (reading room)”.

• Book copies with a department code (e.g. “BIOMED”, “CLINIC”) after the identification number are not kept in the reading room, but in the ITG department indicated. These copies are not immediately available, but can be requested via the library.
• Book copies with the letter “V” after the identification number are missing or lost. They are obviously no longer available.

(EbscoHost)

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes more than 500 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and some 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.

(ITM Library)

Selection of publications on scientific literature and its various aspects. Major topics include: authorship, bibliographic databases (Medline, etc.), bibliographic formats (Vancouver, etc.), bibliometrics, biomedical literature: guidelines (e.g. how to write scientific papers), evaluation and correct interpretation, citation analysis, electronic libraries, open access, clinical trials, systematic reviews and meta-analyses, electronic journals and virtual libraries, information retrieval, internet resources and applications, librarianship and library automation, peer review, reading the literature, writing research articles. This database is also fully integrated in the EDS Discovery Service: use the limiter ‘Information Science’ on the left side of the EDS results screen!

• Volume: over 8,000 records.
• Document types: 95% articles; 4% books & reports; 1% others.
• Language distribution: 92% English; 7% Dutch; 1% other languages.
• Scope: highly selective database, based on personal choice and serendipity.
• Order: the records are presented in reverse chronological order.
• Keywords: all keywords are in English. No controlled thesaurus is used, so various synonyms may occur.
• Availability: all publications (or photocopies) included are available in the ITM library.
• Update frequency: quarterly. Last updated in September 2022.
• Copyright: The Library. Institute of Tropical Medicine 1998-2022.

(MiPC, LSTM)

The Malaria in Pregnancy (MiP) Library is a regularly updated, comprehensive bibliographic database of published and unpublished literature relating to malaria in pregnancy, including a trial registry of planned and ongoing trials. The MiP library is a product of the Malaria in Pregnancy Consortium and is available free of charge.

(ITM Library)

Comprehensive database of publications of medical and veterinary interest concerning three countries of Central Africa: Congo-Kinshasa (formerly Zaire), Rwanda, Burundi (1878-present). This database is also fully integrated in the EDS Discovery Service: use the limiter ‘Central Africa’ on the left side of the EDS results screen!

• Volume: ca. 22,000 records.
• Document types: 72% articles; 5% books & reports; 7% book chapters; 10% abstracts; 5% dissertations; 1% other.
• Language distribution: 66% French; 31% English; 3% other languages.
• Scope: exhaustive database; when communicated to the ITG library staff, published items missing in the database will be added in later updates.
• Order: the records are presented in reverse chronological order.
• Keywords: all keywords are in English. No controlled thesaurus is used, so various synonyms may occur.
• Availability: not all publications included are available in the ITM library, yet over 80% are.
• Update frequency: quarterly. This explains why the most recent publications may not have been included yet. Last updated in September 2022.
• Copyright: The Library. Institute of Tropical Medicine 1998-2022.

 (NIH – NLM – NCBI)

Contents: the major international biomedical database, produced by the National Library of Medicine (USA).

Characteristics:

• Subject: medicine and allied sciences or specialties.
• Volume: 1950-present: over 35,000,000 references.
• Document types: Medline/PubMed contains exclusively journal articles; books and reports are generally not included. The database is produced by scanning
  approximately 5,000 biomedical journals.
  From the quantitative point of view this is only a fraction of the total number of biomedical journals, but the quality of this selection guarantees that virtually all important publications of the world literature are included – however, Medline/PubMed has a strong Anglosaxon bias.

(ITM Library)

Selection of publications on the control of the major endemic diseases in developing countries: amebiasis, ankylostomiasis (hookworm disease), ascariasis, bacillary dysentery (shigellosis), cervix neoplasms, Chagas disease (American trypanosomiasis), cholera, dengue, diabetes, dracunculiasis (Guinea worm disease), ebola virus, filariasis, gonorrhea, hepatitis, HIV/AIDS, hydatidosis, leishmaniasis, leprosy, leptospirosis, malaria, measles, meningitis, MERS, obesity, onchocerciasis (river blindness), plague, poliomyelitis, rabies, SARS, scabies, schistosomiasis, sleeping sickness (African trypanosomiasis), syphilis, tetanus, trachoma, tuberculosis, typhoid fever, yaws, yellow fever, zika virus. This database is also integrated in the EDS Discovery Service: use the limiter ‘Endemic Diseases’ on the left side of the EDS results screen!

• Volume: ca. 13,000 records.
• Document types: 88% articles; 9% books & reports; 3% book chapters.
• Language distribution: 80% English; 20% French.
• Scope: highly selective database. While many more publications may be relevant for these topics, only a choice of items received by the ITM library is selected.
• Order: the records are presented in reverse chronological order.
• Keywords: all keywords are in English. The database is indexed extensively for the diseases listed above. All other keywords are descriptive only. No controlled thesaurus is used, so various synonyms may occur.
• Availability: all publications included in the database are available in the ITM library.
• Update frequency: quarterly. Last updated in September 2022.
• Copyright: The Library. Institute of Tropical Medicine 1998-2022.